the little things.

i am learning, realizing, that life truly IS about the little things.

and God… He takes note of them 🙂

why is this on the forefront of my mind? well you see today, i woke up, thinking that i had an on call shift, believing i wouldn’t actually be working yet hoping they would need me because hello who doesn’t like getting paid? so i called into work an hour beforehand and discovered that i was actually working, not an on call shift! at first i was a tad bit grumpy cuz well it meant i had to get my butt out of bed and up and moving and let’s face it, i’m a night owl haha. anywho, i got up and as i was headed out the door, i realized it was a fairly gloomy day. “wonderful.” i thought, still pretty grumpy. gray days always make people crankier and more apt to be rude. i love my job but i dislike customers who think they own the world. if you can have a good attitude, i will bend over backwards to help you out. if you’re rude? i might just find something else to do when you need help, i’m more likely to ask another associate to help you out because i’m “too busy”. basically, i try to bring positivity to everything and the joy that i have, i try to spread, even to the crabbiest of people…but sometimes i just don’t want to deal with it. this morning was like that.  i decided to change my attitude once i got into the car though, so, taking the advice/challenge of a friend, i put on hillsong and set off to work. halfway there i was cut off by a very dangerous impatient person weaving through traffic and ordinarily this would make me very upset and probably i would yell at them even though i know they couldn’t hear me.  today? it didn’t even bother me. i was busy singing and worshipping Jesus, talking to Him as i drove.  didn’t think anything of it then but now i’m like…ha cool!

work was good, i mean really, i didn’t end up hurting myself physically in any way and that happens very easily in that store haha. also i’m a klutz 😛  but really it was good, my performance was good and i could just FEEL the favor of God in what i was doing. every single customer i approached and helped was pleasant and easy to please really. what they were looking for i was able to find quickly and pretty much every single time it worked out for them.  having such success made me increasingly joyful and when i walked i basically bounced around. i was just so joyful!!

on my break, i knew i only had like 10 minutes which isn’t really much time at all to just sit and decompress, and i debated for 2 of them whether or not it was worth it to pull out my ipod and read from my bible app. then God spoke to me and whispered, “even a single verse in your heart is worth it.” with that in mind, i pulled out my ipod from my locker and actually got through the first 2 chapters of romans, which was really really great.  lately God has been speaking to me about foundations and being deeply rooted so that i can stand firm when the testing and the enemy’s attacks come at me.  i know that this involves a grounding in the Word and spending time with Him no matter what.

back on the floor, i felt like i had just taken the most perfect nap.  it was so strange! it was like the sun was out and shining and i had so much energy, so, with a smile on my face i hopped right back into what i was doing.  to my amazement, everything was just…easy. putting things away was quick and helping customers continued to go well. at the end of romans 2 the verse says, “his praise is not from man but God” and it just HIT me so the whole time i was working, i was thinking about that and for some reason it made me even MORE joyful.  me+joy while at work=singing.  i really do love to sing, even though i’m pretty sucky at it 😛

the next thing i knew, i was instructed to “finish putting that pile away from the fitting rooms and then you’re done for the day” talk about flying by quickly!!

stopped at home and was off to homegroup!

i was excited because this time i was sure there would be several people there instead of only 2 haha. and i was right 🙂

it was really great meeting everyone officially and i don’t mind answering questions about myself anymore, i’m okay with people knowing me now. way more than i used to be. i think it was that night of vulnerability in the car after seeing the spark play that i knew it was okay to be vulnerable.  no one stomped on my emotions that night, no one wrote me off as being stupid, or anything like that. they all just listened and were there, didn’t change the subject or anything.  it was GOOD.  anywho, after we did that for awhile, kelly talked about cadillac and lisa and i talked about the women’s worship nights then we all prayed and prophesied over Titus since it was his last homegroup and that was just SO GOOD. i was surprised to find God right there waiting to meet me as soon as i opened my heart to Him. i began praying in tongues and just thanking Him while ian prayed out about Titus and then he read a scripture from Ephesians 6 and he said the word “courageous” and right away i had Joshua 1 in my mind so i meditated on that for awhile and then also had a vision,, i was so captivated by how quickly both things came to me, and i just was in awe of God because i really felt like He was MORE HUNGRY for ME than i was for Him! i don’t even know how that is possible!! but it was incredible. just incredible.  as we were nearing the end of praying, i heard Him speak to me very firmly, “I see the little things, the small efforts you make and I meet you in them. I multiply them. Where you try I will give you success and achievement.”  it warmed my heart SO much, felt as though He had given me a pat on the back and said “well done”

i find all of this funny because you see i have always been a details kind of person, paying attention to the small things most people just pass by.

when i was eleven years old i used to spend hours upon hours in the summertime, laying in the grass in my backyard, nose pressed to clover beds, seeking out the four-leaf treasures that i believed would give me supernatural “luck”.  it was enjoyable for me because now looking back i realise that i saw things differently, and i still do. when you’re face to the ground like that, you see the textures of the grass and the clover flowers, how they have a slight pink tone to them, most people see them as white.  all of these things restore my soul and my heart. restoration restoration RESTORATION and FOUNDATIONS. DEEP DEEP ROOTS. UNSHAKABLE ROOTS.

all because of the little things.

beauty in the small things.

Leave a Reply

