an open hand and a lot of trust.

“Does all of this sound okay to you?”
The day spread out before us and as we sipped on coffee and blinked our eyes awake, the morning light was already rising to an early midday position and the question hung in the air. It was a question inquiring on trust and pending judgement.
Instead of clinging to fear, I chose to open my heart and accept a day of adventure.

My best friend was visiting and weeks ago I had offered a day for her to plan for us.
In my haste of allowing her to do this, I did not think of the nerves or the fear I would feel later.
My days are so planned and laid out before me, mostly out of my control that a day where I had no clue to what was planned.
This was all a stretch for my heart but I took the leap and with a steamy Starbucks brew in hand, I played DJ while Mary navigated the road to Milwaukee.

We entertained a stop at Whole Foods and discovered upon a ravine and a trail leading to Lake Michigan.
Both of us breathed in the crisp air and our hearts sang words of discovery, joy and friendship.
Lunch was had shortly thereafter and a fresh brew of coffee from a little indie little-known shop in the heart of Milwaukee.

The day was drawing to an end and as we returned to Kenosha, Mary indicated a desire to find a remote location for her guitar, us and some songs. The place we chose at dusk ended up a secluded wood with just enough light to view the setting of the sun through the branches.

The notes of familiar worship songs soared to the skies as we sang to our Jesus and reminded our hearts of truths not able to be tainted by the darknesses in this world. And then, to end the time, a few familiar notes and she was playing my song. It was written in the depths of my dark season and the lyrics rang true to the core of my heart.

“it feels like no one wanted her to stay,
it feels like maybe she should walk away,
but it shines bright, 
the Spirit still inside of her,
so tonight, she’ll dance in the summer rain”

Leave a Reply

